Nostalgic…

It’s been 3 months now since I quit my last job, where I worked for 2 years. It was on April 2nd, around 6 PM in the evening, I sent my resignation letter. It was an emotional upheaval ~ I had to force myself to hit the ‘send‘ button. I had thought about it for months together but finally decided to take the plunge. It was officially the end of my ‘sit-at-the-desk’  from  ‘nine-to-five’  corporate career.

I still remember my last day in office. Everyone behaved extra-soft that day, making special efforts to ensure that I left with beautiful memories of that place. I had stuck around with them for so long that they hadn’t expected me to leave. Many colleagues and friends remarked, “  It’s just an April fool joke, right? You’ll be back tomorrow? ”  Saying NO to that was the one of the hardest things I have ever done in my life.

I was surprised to see few colleagues, with whom I didn’t even have much interaction, wish me “All the best” on that day. One of them said, “ You have been sincere and a good person. Wishing you all the very best in life and work. ”  Sigh ! My lunch-friend hesitated to meet me that day. When questioned why she was behaving like that, she said “I don’t want to bid you a tearful farewell.” Sigh ! But for infrequent chats these days, we are not in touch regularly and I hope she reads my blog.

Taking photos with everyone was the best and the most touching part of that day. Amidst smiles, handshakes and all the best’s, I finally took that last step out of office.

Though I am not a part of it now, I am still attached to that office. That organization will always hold a special importance and the people somehow are very special and close to my heart. Maybe as I go ahead in life, I will outgrow the feeling of emotional attachment to everything. I am in a nostalgic mood now………………  Missing those days…………………

One response to “Nostalgic…

  1. Pingback: ILP | My cOrNer oF tHe wOrLd

Comments are welcome - I want to know what you think

