Navratri mEmOrIeS

2008. Friday evening. It was raining heavily. I started early from office to catch the last flight from Bombay to Madras. On my way, I had a fight with the auto-wala to drive fast to reach the airport on time. Had I been late by 5 more minutes, I would have missed the flight. Yes. Come to think of it.Β  After hurriedly moving ahead through the security line, I boarded the flight. Phew! Mom, Dad and paati were waiting for me at Madras airport. They were little angry on me to have booked a last-minute-highly-priced flight ticket to Madras, just for the weekend, to see the Golu at home. But, I still remember the happiness on their face when they saw me. Aww.. I love them all! <hugs>

Well, Navratri is back and I am Nostalgic…. I miss the vibrant celebrations in my city now. I miss the the passion of collecting dolls. The way we maintain and clean them… and then thinking of innovative ways to present them…!!

I am totally in love with this festival and I thought I must put few of my pics in my blog for posterity. I hope you will like them, too.

This is a very old pic ~ Golu @ my home, Oct 2008…

…One of the tallest and my favorite golu-bommai @home…

2011. I am learning a new way of celebrating it here in US. I will be doing more posts about golu this year, hopefully. For now, I leave you with some more pics of my golu in US of A.

The initial stage…

….and this….

…and the final one….

…a better pic…

What are your Navratri Memories? How are you all planning to celebrate? πŸ™‚

14 responses to “Navratri mEmOrIeS

  1. nice.. great work…:)

  2. My memories are of fasting for seven days and then doing puja on ashtami. Will do puja on ashtami…BTW, you decorated it very nicely!

    Saru

  3. Very nice Golu. Believe me. Not seen a big golu like this in USA. Very nice one, good work lavender.

  4. Awww… you have made me Nostalgic too.. I am missing Madras and my home now. 😦

  5. I like the dolls. very nice.

  6. Love it….Happy festive season to you and Lemon πŸ™‚

  7. Happy golu and dasshera to you πŸ™‚ My navratri memories revolve around getting the vettalai paak ready to be given for the women who came for navratri, lots of singing, sundal, but not golu. For some reason we did not keep golu regularly.

    • Awww… that’s nice sudha! πŸ™‚

      Giving-and-getting vetthalai paaku is happening here in full swing now! Happy golu and dasshera to you too! Njoii! πŸ™‚

Comments are welcome - I want to know what you think

