KaArAdAyAaN nOmBhU…

“Urugaadha Vennaiyum Oradaiyum Naan Thara…
Oru Naalum En Kanavar Ennai Piriyaadha Varam Vendum”

This is what I chanted during the pooja today. Also known as Savithri Vritham, kaaradayaan nombhu is celebrated when the Tamil month masi ends and panguni begins. I still remember my paati telling me stories of Sathyavan and Savithri and how she tries to save her husband from death. It is also believed that Savithri prepared kaaradai and offered it to Lord Yama for sparing her husband’s life.  Awww! it was fun knowing the significance… and this is one festival that I lOvE tHe mOsT! :)

Happy Nombhu to all of you! :)

Comments are welcome - I want to know what you think

