And this happens everyday

You see, back at home I was a highly pampered kid. I enjoyed the advantage of being the only child. My parents wouldn’t allow me to do any work. Be it washing my plate or snap open the shells of a peanut. As soon as I wake up in the morning, I would see my grandma making my morning coffee and mom preparing my lunch. The point is I got everything in hand. All the time. There would be my favorite dish cooked specially for me if ever there was something on the menu that I wouldn’t eat. I would actually get food in hand. And most of the times, I was spoon fed. Yes! Come to think of it.

The house would be clean always. Breakfast, lunch, snacks, dinner, everything would be ready on time.  My clothes were always ironed. My closets were neatly arranged. My bed sheets were washed regularly. And even if mom wanted me to do some work, dad or grandma would cut her off. See?  How I was pampered? Sigh! Gone are those days. That was one such life! Now, I have to do all kinds of work at home. Lemon is okay with however the house looks like. He is neither bothered about the undone dishes nor the unwashed clothes. But every time I see them, I panic. The kind of physical labour required to do these kind of jobs pisses me off. Sigh!

I would actually blame my parents for making me believe that I am a Queen and that I will always enjoy all the luxuries of life. Ok!! Am I complaining?? I don’t know, but I am glad for what they said and what I am going through today. At least I get to experience both sides.

Anyways, I have not been well for the past few days and Lemon needed some time in understanding the magnitude of my tiredness. To stand and do the dishes is way too toilsome for my soft bones these days. I cannot stand on my toes all day long. It is Lemon who does the dishes and vacuums the house now. Know what? He does that without complaining. He even does things that I am not comfortable doing for my own self and those are the times I get a deep sense of satisfaction! Awwwwwww……. I love my life!!

16 responses to “And this happens everyday

  1. Its so like reading my life lavender. You and lemon make a lovely couple. Touch wood:-)

  2. Love this post. I can relate to so many things in my life, Lavender
    Lemon helps you without complaining? *bows down to him* 🙂

  3. This reminds me of myself. 😛 Ah, the good life. Lemon is so sweet, by the way. Touche. 🙂

  4. u got a cool hubby 🙂

  5. Aparna Balaji

    Sweetie!!! Tis s wat is marriage nd staying away frm parents all about whn it cms to doing chores… No matter u r a single child or wth siblings. u r a GAL and MARRIED!!!!!

  6. hey get well soon.. lucky that u have an understanding partner.. u remain the queen all ur life.. 🙂

  7. Hay u were a queen and u’ll continue to be knowing how Lemon. Keep posting the help he renders and that too without complaining so that other guys also learn from him

Comments are welcome - I want to know what you think

