Daily Archives: March 25, 2014

On job, company and much more (100 Happy Days – Day 9)

I have always dreamed of working in a big office. The brand was not so important. But the look and feel of the office environment was very important to me. I wanted no traffic in my daily route to office. I wanted my cubicle near a big over sized window. I wanted a huge cafeteria with all my favorite food. I wanted the office to have machines that brew Indian coffee. I wanted it to be near my home. I wanted it to be spacious. I wanted it all.

Okay, with all this dream in mind, I wanted a full time job somewhere near my home. What do people normally do when they want a job? They search in all possible job sites or contact a recruiter, right? You know what I did? I google searched all possible companies in and around my area first. Then, I searched for all the company images to see which one would have at least some of the things that I dreamed of. After all, I would be spending most of my days there, I better like the environment, right? Right!

The moment I told Lemon about all this, he doubted if I would ever find a job. ‘Are you stupid? Who cares about any of these things? These days getting a job is more important’, he said. Whatever, if I do not like the place, I will not take it was my thought! Period.

And I hated contacting recruiters. They act like sales men/ women. They do their best to sell any job to anyone. Sometimes, I do feel like getting inside the phone and punching them since they do not understand what I want or know what I am capable of.

And then, I thought about freelancing. It would work for some. In the freelancing world you must do a lot of waiting though. And, I do hate chasing people for money. I don’t trust anyone and what if I dont get my paycheck at all?

Work from home? Again it might work for some. But how do those people manage all the distractions? I find it hard to write my assignments at home. Attempting to study at home seems to be futile process. May be a cup of coffee might help?

Anyways, back to reality. I have completed 6 months in my new job now. It has been super duper busy with all work, Lime and the MBA. I am occupied 24/7. But I cannot give up writing. So, what I am doing these days is dedicating some time everyday to my blog. Especially my lunch hours.

Spending all this time in a new role, I think I have been maturing enough in a different way and learning a lot in life. The team, the environment, the work is all interesting and am happy choosing this place.

I read somewhere that you should find a job where you would love the work, like the people and can’t wait to get back to work. The new office neither has a great infrastructure nor a great cafeteria. But I am definitely happy in my new role and so I think some of what that someone said has actually become true. Now, let me see how all this goes.

#100happydays