“Name” many problems

Isn’t there a lot to a persons name? Or is that what I believe? I don’t know! May be both visible and Invisible elements are attached to one’s name? One’s roots, identity, history and sometimes even one’s caste maybe associated, right?

And then for some their name might not mean anything at all.

******

My name is a special name and I love it. But it is soooo hard for people in office to pronounce my name. Some people stress the first syllable, some others stress too much on the second and then some others just misspell the name.

Is my name so hard to pronounce? I bet, it’s not that tough !!Β  Anyways, for whatever tHe reason may be, I hate people when they Mispronounce / Misspell my name ! 😐

******

Some of my friends changed their last name after marriage. And some of us did not. I belong to the latter. Changing the name involved a lot of paper work. I was not ready to do any of those stupid procedures.

We, south Indians do not have a family name. We mostly use our fathers name as our last name. Lemon’s fathers’ name and my dad’s name are the same. If I were to change my name I would have to keep Lemon’s first name as my last name. If I do that we wouldn’t have a common last name.
So it was a very convenient choice for me to just keep my fathers name as my last name even after marriage.
And everyone thought that our last name is our family name.

******

Now people. Do judge all that you want! I’m not changing my name!!

12 responses to ““Name” many problems

  1. Yay I know your name I know your name and yes I love your name too πŸ™‚

  2. What’s in a name? πŸ˜›
    It is your decision after all. People will just be people.

  3. Good and I think it is your decision to change the name or not .. and these days it is very common.

    A NAME is very important for sure, andi too hate when they cant pronounce my name and it is a shame sometimes that here in uk its the so called indians who are trying to be foreigners , its them who for some reason dont pronounce it right.

  4. Vaayadi Pennu ;)

    My full name has both my parents name it, occured as a result of a spelling mistake on the part of my school. People find it fashionable that I was name such! I’m happy.. I carry my folks with me in my wherever I go πŸ™‚

  5. I so want to know your name now :O And no… I wont judge you at all, if you dont change your name. I have not changed my name after my marriage and find the entire exercise just absurd.

  6. Now I am so curious to know your name πŸ˜€

  7. I know your name too πŸ™‚ and I have two more people with same name.. I didn’t change my last name either.. we have three different last name in our family πŸ™‚

Comments are welcome - I want to know what you think

