Daily Archives: June 18, 2010

WeeKEnD…

Wohoo !! I am going to watch Raavan tomorrow. Canโ€™t wait to watch the movie ! ๐Ÿ™‚

What are your plans for the weekend?

mUsIc & mE

Carnatic music ~ has always played an important role in my life. My first memory of music is probably the lullabies that my Paati and Mom used to sing for me. ๐Ÿ™‚ All @ home were ardent fans of Carnatic Music and I remember listening to the notes โ€˜Sa Ri Ga Ma Pa Da Niโ€™, tHe first time, @ the age of 7.

I had to attend Music classes on all Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays and Bharatnatyam classes on all Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays. Yes, I was a busy girl ! ๐Ÿ™‚ Initially, I had no interest in tHe music classes. I used to start crying the moment I knew it’s time for music lessons and I even remember times when I was forced to attend classes ๐Ÿ˜›

We had this huge collection of Carnatic songs at home FROM Ariyakudi Ramanuja Iyengar, Balamurali Krishna, Bombay Jayashree, Bombay Sisters, D.K. Pattammal, Lalgudi Jayarama Iyer, M.S. Subbulakshmi,ย  Madurai T.N. Seshagopalan, Maharajapuram Santhanam, Semmangudi Srinivasa Iyer TO Bombay Jayasree, Nithyashree Mahadevan, Ranjani-Gayatri, P.Unni Krishnan, Sanjay Subtahmanyan, Sudha Ragunathan and T.M. Krishna.

There also used to be a BIG collection of Ilaiyaraja / Rahman and other Old Melodies of Hindi & Tamil Cinema at home. The very first song that inspired me was “Kannodu Kanbadellam” from โ€˜Jeansโ€™ released sometime in 1997. ย It was sung by Nithyasree Mahadevan and I loved her voice soo much that I started listening to her cassettes. There were some days when I just simply wanted to, well, enjoy the music.

As days passed by, I started to hear more Carnatic songs played on TV and Radio. I used to love listening to tHe Pancharatna kriti rendition by all the singers at Thyagaraja Aradhana broadcast on Doordharshan. I then started having my own list of favourite Carnatic songs which included Sriman Narayana, Vandanamu, Bandu riti kolu and Jagadodharana……. Hmmm, this is how my interest began…ย  I am in a nostalgic mood now! ๐Ÿ™‚

It makes me feel that mUsIc is tHe best thing to have happened to me. I cheer up listening to it when I am sad. It makes me happy! Itโ€™s the one that comforts me all time. Itโ€™s just amazing ! Whatโ€™s life without music?

Stay tuned to know more !

Yay !! :)

Harry Potter Theme Park ~ The Wizarding World of Harry Potter is now open !! ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚